Item added to your cart.

Only You
Emilie Levienaise-Farrouch
Catalogue Number
Release Date
July 26, 2019

Afour-track digital EP, ‘Only You’ spotlights French pianist/ composer Emilie Levienaise-Farrouch’s score to the film of the same name, which opens in UK cinemas on 12th July 2019, starring Laia Costa and Josh O’Connor and directed by newcomer Harry Wootliff. Having received its world premiere as an Official Selection at the BFI London Film Festival in 2018, the film explores a passionate, romantic, and contemporary love story, about the struggle to remain in love when life doesn’t give you everything you want it to.

This selection of four cues from the original score sees its composer dialing into the intimacy of the narrative. Just like the film itself, the instrumentation for the original score of 'Only You' is intimate, focusing on two elements only - cello and piano, often layered and with subtle electronic manipulations. These four longest cues from the film express what the two lead characters, Elena (Costa) and Jake (O'Connor), can't or won't say out loud, with the music and melodies becoming the voices of their emotions.

‘Separation’ opens proceedings with a gentle piano score performed beautifully by Christina McMaster. ‘Where We Are’ and ‘Sorry I Missed Your Call’ are composed for solo cello and performed by Gregor Riddell. The former with its use of delay and sense of space recalls the late great Arthur Russell; whilst the latter overlays the staccato processing with a beautiful bowed melody. Closing out the EP, ‘End Scene’ marries the two cello modes with the piano, this time played by Emilie herself. All four brief tracks were recorded by Sean Woodlock at Goldsmiths Music Studio and were mastered by Martyn Heyne at Lichte Studio.

Brief as it may be, the ‘Only You EP’ is a wonderfully intimate, tender and evocative compliment to the film. Her first score for a widely distributed film, it highlights Emilie’s delicacy and purity of touch as a composer and points towards a bright future working in the medium, following the footsteps of fellow 130701 label alumni like Max Richter, Dustin O’Halloran, Hauschka and Jóhann Jóhannsson.

Based in London, Emilie is an award-winning French pianist/ composer. Having released two albums on FatCat’s 130701 imprint, her musical practice also spans film score and sound design, with all of her work connected by both its high quality and a common sensibility of elegant, instinctual composition. Having studied a MA in composition at Goldsmiths whilst working for three years at online electronic store Bleep, these experiences show through in Emilie’s music, which has been described by Tiny Mix Tapes as “sublime in the language its piano articulates, limned beautifully by orchestral and electronic ambience… melodic, graceful, eloquent, compelling.” Exclaim! Described Emilie as “quickly establishing herself as an important new voice in contemporary music… Her exacting style produces a fully formed, gorgeously crafted result.”

Digital Tracklist

  1. 1 Separation 2:41 Buy


  2. 2 Where We Are 1:14 Buy

    Where We Are

  3. 3 Sorry I Missed Your Call 2:20 Buy

    Sorry I Missed Your Call

  4. 4 End Scene 2:35 Buy

    End Scene

Emilie Levienaise-Farrouch

--:-- --:--

Privacy Settings

This site uses cookies. For information, please read our cookies policy. Cookies Policy

Allow All
Manage Consent Preferences