Item added to your cart.

Midnight Proposals
Jennifer Touch
FatCat Records
Catalogue Number
Release Date
February 17, 2023

Berlin artist Jennifer Touch returns with her second album ‘Midnight Proposals,’ set for release 17th February.

Touch was reading ‘Grapes of Wrath’ by John Steinbeck when she started to work on her record ‘Midnight Proposals,’ due out in February on FatCat Recordings. “The whole settlers movement touched me, and I really felt like a cowboy whilst writing and recording these songs,” she explains. It reminded her of her great grandparent’s story, and the house they built in the 30s that was her sanctuary as a child. “As cosy as it was, I always yearned for somewhere else, to find myself and my own place to settle.” Full of hope and mystery, ‘Midnight Proposals’ is a selection of songs that both celebrate and question the romance of this illusion, documenting a very human desire to search for our people and our safe place. For a reinvigorated Touch, it marks the next stop of a journey both artistically and sonically. “These are my dark proposals to the world,” she proclaims. “So come and join me around the fire!”

Unlike biographical debut album ‘Behind the Wall’ which took years to pen, ‘Midnight Proposals’ was written in an explosion of energy and creativity and completed in just 4 months. Touch spent a few weeks prior sorting her set-up from her Berlin studio and gathering the tools she needed to complete the record. “I didn’t know what was going to happen, I just said to the universe: hey, I’m here and I’m your vessel. It was a like a trip or something and I really don’t remember the process, but I love every song on it.”

Touch’s 2020 debut ‘Behind the Wall’ was a coming-of-age record of sorts, dripping with cold sensuality and delivered with a visceral post-punk snarl. In contrast, ‘Midnight Proposals’ feels free from the shackles of adolescence, and places her amongst dark wave electronica’s elite, rubbing sonic shoulders with PJ Harvey, Tempers and Depeche Mode. She calls it Post-Wave-Cold-Pop-Acid-Romance. It’s an intriguing and assured record from an artist on a journey, not afraid to share the intimate details on route to her destination, and wherever that may be.

Digital Tracklist

  1. 1 Summerchild 3:59 Buy


  2. 2 Rumor 4:33 Buy


  3. 3 A Day 3:56 Buy

    A Day

  4. 4 Prayer 2:25 Buy


  5. 5 Sacred Type 4:41 Buy

    Sacred Type

  6. 6 Gudrun 3:50 Buy


  7. 7 Twisted 3:53 Buy


  8. 8 Soft and Dark 4:09 Buy

    Soft and Dark

  9. 9 Shot Shot 3:42 Buy

    Shot Shot

  10. 10 Already There 2:19 Buy

    Already There

  11. 11 Art 3:03 Buy


  12. 12 Sold Out 3:20 Buy

    Sold Out

  13. 13 Sad Strings 4:48 Buy

    Sad Strings

Jennifer Touch

--:-- --:--

Privacy Settings

This site uses cookies. For information, please read our cookies policy. Cookies Policy

Allow All
Manage Consent Preferences